Horse Racing and The Australian Hall of Fame

Horse Racing and The Australian Hall of Fame

The Australian racing history had always been rich since its dawn in the 1800’s. There are numerous names that made their mark throughout the centuries which led to the creation of the Australian Horse Racing Hall of Fame. These include jockeys trainers and racehorses. Through the years the main focus had always been humans but let’s give due recognition to those mares who have shown extraordinary talent, speed and agility in the field. There are over fifty of them who made it to the Hall of Fame but in this article, we can only meet a few.


Wakeful had been foaled in 1896 and grew up to become of the most popular racehorses in history. All throughout her career she was only unplaced three times and thus writing history. She had won races such as the VATC Oakleigh Plate, the VRC Newmarket Handicap the AJC Doncaster Handicap, Sydney Cup, Melbourne Cup and a few other smaller races.


In Sunline’s life of 14 years, she really made a mark for herself by winning many prestigious races all over Australia. She competed in a total of 48 races and winning 32 of them. In addition to joining races in Australia, she also won horse races in New Zealand and Hong Kong. Among the many races she won were W.S. Cox Plates, Weight for Age, and Doncaster Handicap. She was named New Zealand Horse of the Year four times and was the only horse to win Australian Horse of the Year three times.


Malua is considered to be the most versatile Australian Thoroughbred to have lived in racehorse history.

He impressively won over distances ranging from 1100 to 5200 meters. He started racing as early as 2 years old when he was still in Tasmania. Among the races he won were the Newmarket Handicap and the Caulfield Cup.


Winx had just started making history and had already made his way to the top. He is one of the newest member of the Hall of Fame having been inducted just a few months ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *